Global Council

Details about the PyLadies Global Council model, structure, and members

PyLadies Global Council

Our Model

PyLadies governance structure

After a public request for comment period in 2019, PyLadies created the current format for global PyLadies governance:

  • A global council selected through a public election and an application process
  • Open source project teams open to all PyLadies members

Council Membership

  • The council will have 9 seats.
  • 6 seats selected via public election, with a term of 2 years.
  • 3 seats appointed via application, with a term of 1 year.
  • No one country of residence will account for more than 33% of the council during a cohort.
  • There are no caps on the number of terms a council member can serve.

The structure of the Council is subject to change based on recommendations and input from the PyLadies Global Council and the broader PyLadies community.

Who is on the Council

The inaugural Council members include:

  • Ana Cecília Vieira Silva (Brazil) - 2 year term
  • Juliana Ferreira Alves (Brazil) - 2 year term
  • Ana Valeria Calderón Briz (México) - 2 year term
  • Jessica Upani (Namibia) - 2 year term
  • Lynn Root (United States of America) - 2 year term
  • Tania Allard (United Kingdom) - 2 year term
  • Sarah Adigwe (Nigeria) - 1 year term
  • Marie-Louise Annan (United Kingdom) - 1 year term
  • Reshama Shaikh (United States of America) - 1 year term